Planning Department


Planning Commission
The Planning Commission is an eleven-member board consisting of the three county commissioners or their alternates and eight members appointed by the county commissioners.
Important Links


Comprehensive Planning Documents

2019 Comprehensive Planning Document "Wayne Onward"

1997 Comprehensive Planning Document "Tomorrow Together"

Technical Review Committee

The first step for submission to the Planning Commission is review by the Technical Review Committee (TRC). The TRC is a one stop shop for subdivision review, consisting of: Wayne County Planning Department, Wayne County Health Department, Soil & Water Conservation District, Wayne County Building Codes Department, Wayne County Engineer and the Map Office. 

TRC Application   (New!)        ► Technical Review 2023 Meeting Schedule

Rural Enterprise Zone

 The Planning Department works with the Rural Enterprise Zone program for the unincorporated areas and the villages in the County.  Compliance with the tax incentive agreements is reviewed annually.  A list of current Wayne County tax incentive agreements is available at the State of Ohio web site. Questions about the program and the county policies should be directed to the Wayne Economic Development Council, 330-264-2411.

State Rural Enterprise Zone List for Wayne County

Community Development Block Grant

The Department works on a variety of projects at the discretion of the Board of County Commissioners including Community Development Block Grants such as the Formula Allocation, Community Housing Improvement programs, and the Revolving Loan Fund.  We are working with Rails-to-Trails of Wayne County on bike trail projects and with the Wayne County Airport on Airport Improvement projects.  Other projects include Scenic Byways for Wayne County, Agricultural Security Areas, the State of Ohio Agricultural Easement Protection program, and Ohio Public Works grant projects.


AG Security Area

Ohio's Agricultural Security Area (ASA) legislation permits one or more landowners to request from county commissioners and township trustees to enroll at least 500 acres of contiguous farmland in the unincorporated area of the county into an ASA for 10 years. ASA's are voluntary; locally controlled; incentive-based; and respect private property rights.

ASA's provide certain benefits to farmers, including protecting against non-farm development, assembling a critical mass of land to help keep farming viable, and providing a new local tax benefit for investment in new agricultural real property. They are not designed to stop development, but to protect farmland by creating special areas where agriculture is encouraged and protected.

On April 26, 2006 the Board of Commissioners adopted policies and procedures for Security Areas in Wayne County. The State of ASA application is available for your use.  Wayne County charges a $40 fee at the time of application submission. 

Questions? Contact: or call (330) 263-7456


Security Areas in Wayne County, Commissioners Policy 

► State of Ohio ASA Application

ASA Info. Card







For Fair Housing Questions
Community Action:  (330) 621 - 8028 for County inquiries. 
For the City of Wooster, please call (330) 263 - 5200. ext: 300

CHIP (Community Housing Impact Program)
Call Wayne Metro Housing: (330) 264 - 2727



The Wayne County Planning Department is responsible for the enforcement of the Subdivision Regulations for the unincorporated areas of Wayne County. Variances, Major Allotments and Common Access Drive proposals are reviewed by the Wayne County Planning Commission at their regularly scheduled meetings. 


The Wayne County Planning Department is responsible for the enforcement of Floodplain Resolution for the unincorporated areas of Wayne County.

 ► CAP Exemption Statement for Floodplain Review


 For Fair Housing Questions:  (330) 621-8038 for county inquries. 

For City of Wooster call 330-263-5200 ext 300


Community Legal Aid ( Download brochure )
Zoom Eviction Clinic - Launch Zoom
Eviction Tool Kit - Download Kit

WAYNE COUNTY TRANSIT  ( Download brochure )
 Wayne County Transit is a joint project of Community Action Wayne/Media and the Stark Area Regional Transit Authority (SARTA)

WCT Demonstration Day Flyer


CHIP (Community Housing Impact Program call Wayne Metro Housing at 330-264-2727

Please click on the above image for additional information. 

Supplemental Information Supplemental Information


 ► Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has floodplain maps online and enables searches by an address for the applicable floodplain map.

► The Ohio EPA (OEPA) provides information on both water and sewage treatment facilities.

► The Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) provides information on the communities with floodplain programs and their contact information.

► U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Regulations for waterways and wetlands as well as permit information for our area can be found at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers website for the Huntington District Office. 

► Web-based Underground Mine Locator - A web-based underground mine locator is available online. The underground mine locator will identify any known abandoned underground mine by street address or by interactive map.


Planning Department Contacts:
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or need additional information.

Jennifer Kiper, Director
(330) 287- 5423

Brian Reilly, Economic & Community Coordinator
Economic Development- EZ, CRA and CDBG Questions
(330) 287-5422

Stephanie Featheringill, Land Use Planner
Land Use and Floodplain - TRC and Subdivision Questions
(330) 287-5426